Dopey Challenge, Umbrella Post

This past weekend, (January 9-12) my husband and I took part in the inaugural Dopey Challenge as part of the Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend. The Challenge consisted of 4 races. A 5k on Thursday, a 10K on Friday, a half marathon on Saturday, and a full marathon on Sunday. This challenge includes the Goofy challenge, which is completing the Half and the Full. Dopey participants could earn 6 medals. We also hit up the expo and cool down “party” at Downtown Disney.  I’ve decided to recap each race and event as to not have one blog post that is 65 chapters long.

A few notes:

  • We (husband and I) did not stay on Disney property
  • Dopey participants received 2 bibs, green for the 5k & 10K, gray for the half & full
  • We were not running for time, we paid the money to see how long we could stay in the parks.
  • We only took one day to visit the parks
  • This was our 2nd RunDisney event
  • Costumes are encouraged
  • All my photos taken on an iphone
  • I also signed up for the Digital Running club challenge and will be receiving 2 more medals
  • Characters had a handler that were more than happy to take photos with your camera
  • 16 min pace required
  • Dopey participants received wristbands to prove they finished each race
  • My husband’s race thoughts are at www.hawkstosox.wordpress.com
  • My race results I am on page 73
  • We can’t wait to go back!
  • I am not a writer, so some of my recaps are verbatim, but some things were the same

Image

9 thoughts on “Dopey Challenge, Umbrella Post

  1. I am hoping to do the Dopey as well next year!! I’m interested in staying off Disney property and I have a few questions! Where did you stay? And what time did you need to leave your hotel each day via your rental car to make it to the race before the roads shut down 🙂 Thanks!!

    • We stayed with friends, not too far from 192, about a 15 minute drive to the Epcot parking lot. I believe we left the house at about 3:00 am for the 5:30 starts, give or take a few minutes. We probably had 30-45 minutes to get into the lot, but the worse thing on race day is to feel rushed. Once we were in the lot we could easily relax for a while before going to the corrals. Maybe we’ll see you next year.

  2. Thanks!! If I do the challenge… I’d rather stay healthy and off my feet as much as possible thru the marathon and then do the parks after the marathon and show off the bling!

  3. Pingback: Angie Runs | My Running Holiday Gift Guide

  4. Pingback: Angie Runs | 2014 – Year in Review

  5. Pingback: Angie Runs | Enchanted 10k – 2015

  6. Pingback: My 2015 Runner’s Gift Guide | Angie Runs

  7. Pingback: Taking on the Challenge | Angie Runs

Leave a Reply

