Medals 4 Mettle

I run a lot of miles, and a lot of races. It has become my passion. However I feel like I need to do something to take it to the next step. With my recent birthday, and some inspiration, I came across Medals 4 Mettle.

Many runners sign up for a race just for the “bling”, which I can relate. Who doesn’t like to show off their accomplishments? However the medals are piling up & the wall space is shrinking. It’s time to donate them to someone who may be in a race as well, a race for their life.

Well, because I am me…a little different… I didn’t want to just donate my medals, I decided to start a chapter here in Iowa City, IA. I have just started this journey, so I am still learning. If you would like to donate a medal to the organization you can contact me at angie.maskeberka@medals4mettle.org , drop them off at the Iowa City Running Wild, or check out a chapter in your area. Currently I have established a relationship with the Iowa City Ronald McDonald house, as well as creating relationships with my local hospitals. I also have a firstgiving account ( firstgiving.com/fundraiser/angiemaske-berka )  to help raise money. Money goes towards buying ribbons.  I would also like to raise money with my head band sales.

Medals accepted for donation: half marathon, full marathon, ultra distances, or triathlon medals. Medals earned by children will also be donated to other children. If shorter distances are donated, I would make sure they go to family members of the recipient.

If you have any questions, concerns, comments, please let me know.  Thanks!

Image

4 thoughts on “Medals 4 Mettle

  1. What a great way to give back. Great job Angie!

  2. Awesome! I just became the new coordinator for the Philadelphia chapter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

