Legend of the Fall 2014

Thursday November 27, 2014. Regina High School / Hickory Hill Park, Iowa City, IA. Sunny, windy 15-20 degrees. Aprrox 4 mile trail race.

IMG_7298

*I ran this race the last couple of years, here is last year’s recap

Registration: Available online through get me registered, price increased up to $25. Same day registration. Long sleeve cotton shirts, but no guarantee for race day registrants. Chip timing was also included in fee.

IMG_7292

Pre Race / Packet Pick up: Parking was available at the high school, but first come, first serve. Packet pick up was held in the cafeteria, organized by last name.  Bathrooms available in the school.

Race & Course: Race starts on the track after some brief announcements about the “Legend” Bob Brown, for which the race is named. He was the former track and XC coach for Regina high school who lost a battle with pancreatic cancer, he always preached “nothing but your best.” This year the announcement speaker was too far away from the starting line to hear anything, so there was some mumbling and then a commotion and we all started.

It had snowed the night before, nothing major, just enough to make it slippery after it was packed down from the heard of runners. The terrain was tough, wash out, tree roots, steep inclines: trail! No water stops, no mile markers. Course marked with small yellow flags. Difficult to pass. Even though some runners, trekked across a field off of the course, there was only one marked short cut; it was marked “Spicy” route or “mild” route. The short cut was on unmarked trail to a creek, that hadn’t yet frozen.

Finish was back on the track, after another partial loop, was marked with a timer and a chute where chips were removed.  The finish was crowded and a little close to the runners coming into the track, had to be careful and stay out of their way.

Post Race: Lots of baked goods available in the cafeteria; bars, cookies, breads, etc. Blue sports drink and water. We left before the awards were given out.

IMG_7296

Overall: I enjoy this race, it’s for a great cause and the course is a challenge. I also like that it’s not a typical Turkey Trot, you have to put in some effort to complete the course.

Personal: Josh and I ran to the race, well because we could. We were race day registrants, and did not get a t-shirt unless we wanted a super large size. We arrived with not a lot of time to cool down, but we did have time to snap a picture with some of the #100miles group.

IMG_7293

It was cold, but that is what comes with where we live. We both didn’t have many goals, but to enjoy the course. However when I spoke with Josh after the race, he said he changed his strategy mid course, and tried to “race” as he saw a familiar face he wanted to beat.

IMG_7297

I had an interesting race. I kept one eye to the ground and one eye looking ahead. For trail running this is normal, the terrain was tough. Trying not to trip is hard when it’s icy due to packed snow covering. I was in a group trotting along, when the leading packed cut off course… I said “we follow the yellow flags, right?” So then I was the leader..which is weird as I am never a race leader, I felt alone too.  However I caught back up with some runners near the short cut, as people were piling up around the creek.

I am no stranger to creek crossings, I actually like this style of race. However it was cold, I didn’t want wet feet, as we had yet to run home. Oh well I gave my best effort to jump the not frozen creek…yep one wet foot.  It actually wasn’t too bad, as I believe the water was warmer than the air.

IMG_7306

I did see 2 deer as I came close to the track for the finish.

I met Josh in the cafeteria for some post race treats, we discussed our races, and then didn’t want to cool down too much and made the trek back home.  Always a great way to start Thanksgiving.

IMG_7301

2 thoughts on “Legend of the Fall 2014

  1. Pingback: Angie Runs | 2014 – Year in Review

  2. Pingback: Regal Run 10k – 2015 | Angie Runs

Leave a Reply

