Red Shoe 5k – 2015

Red Shoe Half Marathon & 5k. (5k review) Sunday May 3, 2015. 9 am. Cloudy, raining at start 59 degrees, humid.

Registration: Available online, then closed the day before the race. However you could register on race day. Price range for 5k increased as race got closer from $20-$30. I registered on race day, I only got a bib with timing strip. However I don’t mind supporting my local Ronald McDonald House.

Expo / Packet Pick up: There was no expo. You could pick up your packet Friday before at the Ronald McDonald House, Saturday at Scheels and on the day of the race at Carver Hawkeye Arena.

Pre-Race: There were multiple events taking place, and each race was at a different start time. So as each race started there were announcements and music on a loud speaker given by a local DJ / radio station. The half marathon started at 8 am, the one mile at 8:10, Ronald’s fun run at 8:45, following up with the 5k at 9. There was plenty of free parking in the nearby lots, as the race starts at a sporting venue. There were real flush toilets available in Carver Hawkeye Arena.

Participants were told to line up, no corrals, or no encouragement to line up according to pace. No National Anthem. A countdown and we were off.

Race / Course: The 5k takes place on paved roads through the Manville Heights area of town, a loop – out and back style course.

  • Mile markers
  • paved / asphalt, minimal potholes
  • road was open to traffic, but course clearly marked with cones
  • no spectators on the course, many near the start / finish
  • no on course photographers, but a drone was taking aerial photos near the start / finish
  • one water stop (was too involved in running to pay attention to paper or plastic cups)
  • Rolling hills, nothing too steep. Was a ramp to cross a major highway. Not flat

Finish / Post Race: Finish was marked for 5k or half, follow the sign. An Arch, timing mat and clock were there. Then the food was immediate next, no finishing chute. Bagels, bananas, orange slices, sliced apple packs, orange juice, donuts, cupcakes, bars, fruit snacks, cupcakes, and chocolate milk. A small bottle of water was handed to each participant after they crossed the finish. There were big cardboard containers marked for recycling or trash.

Awards were given to overall winners and AG winners.

Overall: nice community event, great food spread, not a bucket list race, but a great charity to support.

Personal: I had a busy day ahead of me, I needed to be at the North Liberty Farmer’s Market to sell my head bands at 11 am. If I ran the half marathon, I wouldn’t be able to make it all work, so I went with the 5k. I have run the half a few times in the past, and the 5k a long time ago. Due to the staggered start times, I was able to cheer on Josh as he ran the half.

IMG_9819

I made it back to CHA for the start of the 5k. I was feeling great, even with the half marathon the day before. It started out raining, but eventually stopped and was very humid. I was pushing myself.

When I came across the finish line and the clock was at 24 minutes, I was like oh ya, PR…but then I looked at the distance on my Garmin and it was 2.88 miles. I understand a tenth difference, and I didn’t cut any corners by running on sidewalks. Oh well, I had negative splits and was running around 8:30/mile.

IMG_9843

I also got a picture with Herky! I saw Josh finish and I wasn’t able to stay around for the awards, and I have yet to see the official results.

IMG_9833 FullSizeRender(1)

I’ve added this race to Bibrave.com, check it out and add your review too.

One thought on “Red Shoe 5k – 2015

  1. Pingback: 2015 year in review | Angie Runs

Leave a Reply

