It’s Fergalicious – race review

Saturday, August 8, 2015. Cloudy, 70 degrees, HUMID!!!! 8:00 am

This is the 3rd year I have recapped this race. However I am not sure how many years I have been running the race. You can check out last years review, which is linked to the previous year.

Registration: There was online registration available, or you could print out a form and submit payment through mail. Price increased up to race day of $30. Which did not guarantee a short sleeve, cotton, unisex, t-shirt. There was no chip timing, just a bib.

When I registered it was weird, the volunteer was “do we even mention the shirt” Which I could totally hear. Anyway, I said I did not need another shirt, after I had written and passed over my check. The lady then said well you could have paid less. Oh well, the money goes to a great cause, the High School Girls Track Team.

CL4wKdaVAAEexNI

Pre-race: There was no expo and packet pick up was the same day as the race. There were port-o-potties stationed around town as part of the weekend festivities. Parking was first come, first serve, wherever you could find it, as many roads were closed also for the weekend festivities including the parade.Once runners were at the start line there were some encouraging words and we started. No National Anthem.

I am not sure if there were pre-race announcements, as the registration area was where people were gathered, it was the finish line and not the start, which is where I was, as it was near the trail I ran 1.5 miles before the race. Once runners were at the start line there were some encouraging words and we started. 

Course: The course is run on the city streets of West Branch.

  • HILLS!
  • pavement, some spots had to watch out for cracks or holes
  • one water stop, however the volunteers were sitting in the grass next to the table. Water was in plastic cups and the table was off the road, up on a curb.
  • Lots of volunteers at every intersection
  • Some roads were open to traffic
  • one section runners were directed the wrong way, made for an interesting criss crossing of people at one point, but it didn’t alter the distance.
  • no photographers
  • a few spectators, mostly townspeople sitting in their driveways
  • no mile markers, but there were strange number signs along the course
  • course marked with spray painted arrows on pavement and yard signs

Finish: this was marked with some volunteers and track hurdles. There was a line painted on the street. The clock also displayed the overall time. a Volunteer took the tag off the bottom of the bib for placement.

Post Race: Tables set up with bananas, bagels and donuts. Coolers with bottled water and Gatorade.

CL4-EksUsAAx64s

In the past the awards were given and a raffle occurred after everyone had finished. I was headed to my second race of the day, so I grabbed a Gatorade and banana then walked back to my car and snaked through town to get to the next race.

I found out that I “technically” won my AG WOOHOO

I also snagged my goose chase “police giving you a thumbs up”

IMG_2085

As always you can read and write race reviews at Bibrave.com

3 thoughts on “It’s Fergalicious – race review

  1. Yeah for donuts at the finish!

  2. Pingback: 2015 year in review | Angie Runs

Leave a Reply

