My 2nd Bulu Box…it’s here!

“Disclaimer: I received a 3 month subscription to Bulu Box to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”

The second box in my 3 month subscription arrived when I was away at the Louisiana Marathon. After a long day of driving home, seeing the bright orange box on the counter was a nice surprise.

A reminder…if you missed the recap on the first Bulu Box and how it works… What is a Bulu Box? It’s a monthly subscription, to have healthy snack and supplement samples delivered to your doorstep.  You can then review the items to earn points to purchase full size items.

The first thing I noticed, the box and the fun motivational sayings are the same as the previous month. You wont miss this in the mail, as it’s a bold orange with white text. The box itself is not big either, about 9.5: x 6″ x 2.5″.

IMG_1261

It was time to open the box, included in my January box are the following:

  • Honey Don’t Cough, Children’s Buckwheat Honey Supplement. 20 – 0.1 oz packages
  • BioCell Collagen, Joint & Skin Care – 2 capsules
  • Dream Water, Snoozeberry, sleep powder, dietary supplement
  • Earth’s Care Dry & Cracked Skin Balm Moisturizer – 2.5 oz
  • ETB Whey Pure Isolate Protein Powder, Chocolate Peanut Butter
  • Fanda Labs Driv, drink powder
  • VitaPerk, vitamin & mineral coffee boost, Hazelnut, dietary supplement – 05 oz

The first thing I did was open the moisturizer cream. Winter time is hard on my skin, it’s hard to stay ahead of the game when running outside. WHEW…that stuff smells like medicine….ok then….I screwed the lid back on.

– I drink coffee everyday, sometimes too much. I figured it would be easy to try the VitaPerk vitamin and mineral coffee boost. “Contains nutrients for an on-the-go lifestyle” Just rip open the little pouch and dump it in my cup. I drink black coffee, no creamers, no sugar or sweetener. Sweeteners give me a headache and black coffee has no calories- I learned to drink it this way and prefer it this way.  I stirred in the powder and took a swig; it was definitely a hazelnut flavor, but there was some sort of sweetener in it. I looked and it’s dextrose. It just lingers after I drink it. I really gave this a try, but I had to dump it out.  The powder is fine, doesn’t discolor your coffee, it’s just not for me.

-I then decided to just give the moisturizing cream a shot. Yes, this meant I had to get passed the smell. My shins, being away from my nose, is where I decided to test this. In the winter, they become dry, flaky and itchy. I started applying this after a shower. I am not sure if the smell would eventually go away, or I was just used to it, but the more I used it, the less it bothered me. I also noticed it was working. My shins were no longer itchy. It’s an ivory colored, paste like cream.

-I have been running at noon, at work, on the flat nature trail. I try to drink water, but thought I would try the Fanda Labs Driv after a run. It’s a drink mix powder you add to 16-24 oz of water. Advertised to boost endurance and speed recovery. There were 2 samples of this. I am first concerned about taste, before I am concerned about the benefits. There was a warning with this product, saying to not put it in a water bottle and then seal it up, it will fizz. I ripped open the top and poured it in my water bottle. WHOA! It was like a science experiment was happening, all the fizzing and bubbling, and it was purple. I made sure it got all mixed up, and gave it a try. It tasted good, a fruity taste, it was grape flavored. No weird after taste, only 5 calories.

IMG_1294

-Next up was the protein powder. I am not stranger to using this, in fact I love the chocolate, peanut butter combination usually with some banana, always reminds me of a chocolate shake. The “grizzly bear” packaging with a peanut butter cup image had me all excited to give this sample a try. I mixed one cup of skim milk, with the sample and a handful of ice cubes in a blender. I gave it a taste, I really like the peanut butter chocolate flavor, however I was quick to notice a weird aftertaste…sweetener. So I looked at the ingredient list, sucralose. UGH! I tried to drink this, but I just couldn’t do it, down the drain it went.IMG_1395

-The Honey Don’t Cough box looks deceiving, it looks there there would be a bottle of cough syrup inside, as it’s advertised as something to relive cough. However opening the box, it’s just small packets of buckwheat honey…HONEY…that’s what it is. I was like is this a medicine, it’s just honey! So with the help of google, I actually learned that the darker the honey the more health benefits it provides.

IMG_1507

The honey crystallized a little, so before I tried, I put it in a cup of hot water. I haven’t had a cough, or felt sick, but I like honey, so I topped my wildberry muffin with it. It’s very thick, reminds me of molasses, without the stench. It was tasty. If I were sick, I would love this remedy. I also see this as a great additive to coffee, if you like sweeteners.

-BioCell Collagen, Joint & Skin care. There are 2 larger size capsules in this package. I just don’t see how taking one will benefit me, however for the sake of testing all the things. I gave this a go. I didn’t feel any results, and not sure I would incorporate a giant capsule into my daily life.

IMG_1535

-Dream Water, sleep powder, snoozeberry flavor. This is a 3 gram stick of powder that you stir into water, but doesn’t mention how much water. It is to be drank 30 minutes before sleep,and has only 10 calories.

I am not sure, if I had too much water, but the flavor was nice and not too sweet. I am not someone who has trouble falling asleep at night, but when it was time to go to bed, I fell asleep. Not sure if this was working or not. I am also not sure how much you are too consume.

I know I am reviewing Bulu Box as the product, but If I don’t mention the items that come in the box, over the 3 months, I don’t think I would have a complete over view of what is offered.

I have also followed up with my account, and been doing the reviews for each product. I have a nice credit, but not sure what I should buy. I really liked last months Fru-licious snacks.

After this box, I’m not sure if I would continue a subscription. There are too many supplement type samples. I wish there were more snacks. Like I said taste is the first thing I like to test, but things that have vitamins, minerals, supplements – I am not sure I get any benefits from one or two samples.

I am excited to see what’s in the February box.

 

 

One thought on “My 2nd Bulu Box…it’s here!

  1. Pingback: 3rd (& final ? ) Bulu Box – REVIEW | Angie Runs

Leave a Reply

