Bear Stampede 5k

I have run this race many times, but only the 10k. This was my first year running the 5k.

IMG_4122

I was also asked to come back to sell my head bands at the race. I did this last year, and like last year I was happy to donate 50% of my proceeds back to the PTO. You can check out more on my head bands here.

IMG_4112

This year the race took place on Saturday May 14, 2016 at 9:00 am. The weather was a cool 45-50 degrees, sunny and windy. The 5k was run as the same time as the 10k.

Registration: You could register online through a certain date, and were guaranteed a shirt by a certain date. Paper registration forms were available too, as well on race day for only $25, no shirt guaranteed. Included with registration; bib, timing chip and a cotton unisex t-shirt if registered by deadline.

Even though there was chips to coordinate with registrants, they were still taking new people up to 5 minutes before the race start.

Expo/ Packet pickup: There was no true expo, but there was a packet pick up held the night before at the school entrance. Head bands were for sale at that time. There was also race day packet pick up. For the day before the race, parking was right at the front door of the school, but started just as school let out for the day, so at that time was congested.

The night before packet pick up was dead, it was also raining, so not sure if that was the problem. It’s also a small race.

Pre-race: Parking was nearby, but the race started in front of the school and sections of the parking lot were blocked off. Restrooms were available inside the school. Packet pickup and registration were still open. There were head bands and a raffle. Announcements over a loud speaker. A bouncy house was set up for kids. The National Anthem was performed on a guitar.

Race/Course:
– few spectators – mostly included the volunteers at the intersections and family members
-volunteers at each intersection
-one water stop at the turnaround, styrofoam cups
-paved surfaces, sidewalks, nature trail – had to watch footing, but nothing major
-scenery – nothing exciting to see, it’s in a small town
-elevation – mostly flat except the 2 hills near the finish, which are steep
-markers on the course- yard sign style

IMG_4197

My race: I didn’t have huge expectations, I was running a marathon the next day, this was just a shakeout for that. However it’s hard not to try and do my best. I ran with Bryan, he was running the 10k. I said I started too fast, and he did too, but I also told him since he was running the 10k, he was pacing me….but later he thought he was keeping pace with me as he thought I was running the 10k. It was his first 10k…oh well, I think he was surprised when I left him at the 5k split. 

I was then following a kid, who would not let me pass him ( I later found out it was my chiro’s kid) He just kept going, he even dropped his water cup, I said it was ok to not have to pick it up…and he turned the jets on, because I was going to pass him. He did smoke me on the last hilly part.  I was also passed by my AG winner on that last hill, and I actually knew her too…her goal was to just pass me, lol. THIS IS WHY I LOVE SMALL TOWN RACES!! I love the running community!

I finished with a 27:37, which was good enough for 20th place overall, but out of 62 finishers. This was good enough for 2nd in my AG of 30-39.

Those last 2 hills are a great challenge, as much as I hate them, I love them.

Josh also ran the 10k for this race.

IMG_4115

Finish/Post Race: The timing mats were out for the finish with finish flags on either side. A volunteer snagged the chip from your shoe. There were a variety of home made baked goods (even gluten free), as well as bananas, Gatorade, bottled water, and chocolate milk. Awards were given to overall and first place in each age group.

IMG_4119

The one mile and fun run took place starting at 10:30.

For fun I also entered the raffle that was going on as well. I bought 6 tickets for $5 and put them all in the “movie night” box. It was basically all candy, more candy than I have eaten in a long time, but hey I had a marathon coming up, a relay, and a 3 race weekend, who doesn’t love a post race candy bar?

IMG_4125

Well I won! I may have given my 5 year old niece a candy bar too, her parents were not happy. I am Aunt of the Year!!!

Overall: This is always a nice community/school event. Great price, fair course, race distance for all abilities.

IMG_4123

if you ran this race, would love to hear your thoughts on Bibrave.com

One thought on “Bear Stampede 5k

  1. Pingback: 2016 in review | Angie Runs

Leave a Reply

