xx2i Australia1 – Product Review

XX2i Australia1 Sunglasses


“Disclaimer: I received the xx2i Optics Australia1 Polarized Sport Sunglasses   to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”


Before XX2i, I thought running with the shade from a hat or visor was enough to protect my eyes. Now, I can’t imagine running or being outdoors without my sunglasses. I was excited to learn the Australia1 frames I would be receiving would have my prescription lenses in them.

Each model has something a little different about them, it’s the details that make these great. From the website: “the Australia1 is XX2i’s only performance sunglass featuring an interchangeable temple arm / strap system for intense activities. The Australia1 also incorporates a removable padded insert for extra protection against the elements, and a sturdy frame with a unique wraparound style for enhanced peripheral vision. This model comes standard with polarized lenses that employ 8K optical technology, ensuring the utmost lens clarity and frame durability.”

I received my glasses, in matte black with gray lens and blue flash, just like my previous pairs, in a nice hard, zippered case; which is lined with foam. Inside was the glasses, a soft case that doubles as a cleaning cloth, a foam insert, 2 straps, a prescription card, and the original non RX lenses. There is also some clear lenses that look like a test lens, they have no RX. The frames also come in matte tortoise and matte white/black, and you can chose brown lenses.


I am not certain why I have the non RX lenses with my case, as I don’t believe I can take the frames apart and change them myself.

However, I can change the temples to a strap, and add a foam insert. This use would be best for more extreme sports or to protect your eyes from, wind, rain, snow, or dust. There is a piece on the foam that snaps into the hole over the nose on the frame. Makes them more like goggles.


August 11 – This is the day I received them. I tried them on for the first time, I can see out of them better than my current glasses (I think the RX on them is out of date.) It was also night time when I put them on, and I could still see inside.


August 12 – This was my first run, it was cloudy, but didn’t feel too dark. I had this weird perception, the ground seems farther away and always looks like I am going up a hill, weird curve to the lens with the RX. They would fog up when stopped at light,  it was humid & and I was super sweaty.  As far as the fit, they didn’t bounce or slip, great fit!

August 14 –  I took them on a short 3 mile run. Still adjusting to the curve of the lens when looking down. Some weird perception problem. I am not sure I could run trails or an area with unsure footing.

Aug 16– short & slow run, still getting used to the lens.


Aug 17 – humid, fogged up at stop lights. I had a thought, “If I use The foam insert will they be too hot?” I also can notice if I move my eyes left or right there is a weird curve blur to the lens.

All my runs so far have been in the morning. I will wake up and go for my run, this means I do not have to put in my contacts. When I come home and take a shower, this also means I don’t have to shower with my contacts (I am lazy and don’t take them out.) This is great as my eyes don’t dry out. Probably one of my favorite things about having these glasses.

can you see the blur on the right side of the lens, due to the curve?

Another plus is since they are my prescription, my husband, who likes to borrow my running gear, can’t borrow these.

I also noticed I have problems with them fogging up as they do sit close to my face. There is no adjustable nose piece to have them sit farther off your nose. However the fit is great on my face, no slipping or sliding, or bounce and I wear them with a hat/Buff and headphones.

I think the biggest con to having these if you are running somewhere in a tunnel, a trail race, or if the weather changes. In those situations you would need to remove the darker lenses and then wouldn’t be able to see. Now, yes I did wear these on a cloudy day and was still able to see, but if it were any darker, I would have problems.

Personally, I still struggle with the curve of the lens. I had to submit my RX information to XX2i including the distances between my eyes, so they would get the lens right. Maybe my RX was borderline too strong, as I know they can only fill RX to a certain strength.

If you are looking to get a pair of these for yourself they will range in price from $260-$500. They have a variety of lenses to chose from clear, photochromic, and polarized.

Please check out this page with the information you need to get RX lenses for your glasses, including the email contact. http://www.xx2i.com/pages/faq

I like these glasses, but they will be used for specific runs where I am familiar with my footing. I now have many options for protecting my eyes on the run. (I can also use these if I have some eye infection and can’t wear my contacts.) I also can’t wait to try them out in the extreme winter weather, they will be like googles.

*Please note I have these with prescription lenses, so my testing is a bit different. As an actual pair of sunglasses, these are another great product from xx2i.

XX2i makes a quality product. If there is something wrong with them they have the best warranty out there.”no questions asked Lifetime Warranty! No matter if your dog chewed on them (which we hear a lot!) or if you drove over them in your SUV, we’ll replace them for a nominal shipping and handling fee of $19.95!” *still confirming if this is good with RX lenses

I have 4 pairs of XX2i, top to bottom, USA1, Australia1, Bermuda1, Hawaii1

Seriously, I wear the Bermuda1 every day, I can’t imagine wearing the cheap shades you get at expos or pick up at a gas station anymore.

If you have further questions make sure to visit the XX2i website and check out their social channels Twitter, Facebook or Instagram. Also if you haven’t heard this is a great article about the Bibrave and the XX2i partnership.


Check out what the Bibrave Pros had to say: Christine – Jessica R – Samantha – Jeremy – Jen – Heather

 

One thought on “xx2i Australia1 – Product Review

  1. Pingback: BRP  | Angie Runs

Leave a Reply

