Roasted Sweet Potato Salad

RECIPE TIME!

Changing things up a bit! I participate in a couple of farmers’ markets selling my headbands. North Liberty on Sunday from 11 am – 2 pm and in West Branch on Tuesday from 4-6pm throughout the summer.

In North Liberty my vendor spot is next to Karen, she is from the Conesville area. She brings all the produce to the market. This time of year she has a lot of sweet potatoes, even white sweet potatoes.

A few weeks back she was handing out recipes to make a salad with the sweet potatoes. She said she got it from a woman who bought a lot of sweet potatoes from her.

I like sweet potatoes, but besides putting some butter and brown sugar on┬áthem, I don’t know how else to prepare, so I was excited to give this a go.

I was able to get many items at the market so when I brought the recipe home I could whip it up. I liked it so much, I thought the world should get to try it too.


Roasted Sweet Potato Salad:

Ingredients

  • 4 medium sweet potatoes (approx 1.5 lbs) peeled 1″ cubes
  • 1 large red onion
  • 1/2 C. olive oil
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 to 2 T minced jalapeno
  • 1 clove garlic peeled
  • 2 limes, juiced
  • 2 C. cooked black beans, drained (canned is fine)
  • 1 red or yellow bell pepper, seeded and diced
  • 1 C. chopped cilantro


Roast potatoes and onion tossed with 2 T oil and salt and pepper to taste in a 400 degree F oven until beginning to brown and just tender, approx 30 minutes. Set aside.


Process jalapeno with garlic, lime juice and remaining olive oil. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Process until well blended.

Toss warm veggies with beans and bell peppers.


Mix with dressing and cilantro.

Taste and adjust seasoning if necessary.

Serve warm, room temp or cold.

If making ahead, store salad and dressing separately and combine just before serving.

Makes 4 servings

I even shared with Josh and he liked this too. I brought some to work and shared with my dad, he thought it was a little bland, but it’s my dad…LOL.

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

