New Bo Half Marathon

New Bo Half Marathon – Race Recap

Ahh man it’s halfway through September and I am just getting to this review. I guess football season and all the races have taken over…Anyway, here I have for you my New Bo Half experience…

For my official race review, please check Bibrave.com. I would also like to read your review, so add one!

The 2016 event took place on Sunday, September 4, at the New Bo Market in Cedar Rapids, IA. It was a cool morning, about 60 degrees, and partly sunny. It would warm to the upper 70’s and the sun made an appearance.


I arrived with plenty of time before the 7:30 am start. I needed to grab my packet and was planning on taking some pictures for the running club. There was plenty of free parking in a lot about a block from all the festivities. This lot was also easy to leave from, you weren’t blocked in due to the race route.

Gear: Sparkle Athletic skirt & Visor, Orange Mud Hydraquiver, Brooks Ghost 9, Walmart Tank, Procompression socks, Garmin Fenix, Addidas boy short, Aftershokz headphones, XX2i USA 1 sunglasses

I had registered online for only $40 and if I wanted a shirt, I could pay extra. I don’t need another shirt, so I love this option. There was also race day registration available. The line looked to go fast, I noticed it as I picked my packet up in the neighboring line.

Included with my $40 was a bib and timing chip, sticker, post race reusable cup and beer, and a handmade ceramic finishers medal.

I had some time to kill before the race started, so I milled around, talked to a few people and took those pictures. There was an announcer telling people all the happenings as well. I was on the lookout for my friend Jen. She was running her first ever half marathon.

It was close to starting time, and all the participants lined up at the start, which wasn’t the same as the finish. I happened to bump into Jen at the start. I was happy to see her. She looked very nervous. I hope my “it’s just another race attitude” didn’t frighten her more.


We listened to the National Anthem, which was sung live and the race was off! The spectators were lining the course the first few blocks, I made sure to slap some high fives.

Jen and I stayed together for a mile or so. I had to get to the North Liberty Farmers Market after the race, like immediately when I was done. I really wanted to stay with her, but she insisted I go ahead, and it made sense due to the time crunch. I was also stopping to take pictures for the the club too.

The course was an out an back, with a section on trail before we ran back. There were some rolling hills. Each mile we passed was marked with a flag. Once we got out of town, there were very few spectators. There was a photographer around the start and finish, pictures were provided for FREE! So many volunteers on course, and they were all friendly! There were police at the major intersections.

There were a lot of aid stations, but they only had water in plastic cups. There was no electrolyte drink on course. There was however a Gu stop at the halfway point. I need my electrolytes and I don’t do gels, so I made sure to carry my own. This was all mentioned on the website, so I was able to plan ahead.

I had a decent race, nothing to write home about. I finished…my time was 2:20:18.

I crossed the finish line and a medal was placed around my neck. These are really cool hand made ceramic medals, they were in the shape of Iowa.

I then grabbed my reusable plastic cup and filled it with water from the cooler at the finish line. Then up next was the post race food, there was a lot to choose from! The New Bo market is short for New Bohemia…so the post race takes pride in that and offers kolaches and pretzel rolls, there are also bananas and breakfast burritos.

I emptied the water from my reusable cup and made my way to the beer! The lady took my cup and filled it with a Lions Bridge brew, Yum! She never checked my ID and I am not sure she looked at my bib or medal to see if I ran the race. I only note this as later Jen told me she didn’t get any beer, they were out.

So I had walked through all the post race beer and food, and who do I see is also already finished…yep, JEN!!! She totally crushed her first marathon. She was thinking sub 3 hour and came in sub 2:30 or something. That is amazing!!! Congrats to her!!!


That was about it, I had to get moving to the farmers market. I said my goodbyes and walked the short walk to my car. I was out of the parking lot and in NL in no time.

This is a really nice race. For one – $40 for a half marathon is a steal!!! Next – it’s a fair course, not too flat, and some good hills. Love the personal touch of the handmade medal. My only one suggestion is to add some electrolytes on course. If I can do this again, I will.


Also instead of my traditional post with 23094820934  pictures, I will share my youtube video I created from the pictures I snapped when running.

 

2 thoughts on “New Bo Half Marathon

  1. Pingback: Run With Carl – 2016 | Angie Runs

  2. Pingback: 2016 in review | Angie Runs

Leave a Reply

