Run With Carl – 2016

Run With Carl

This race has become my labor day tradition. I think I have ran it the past 3 or 4 years. I have a few reviews at Bibrave.com if you want to check em out, but the race goes so smoothly, they are usually the same.

This race has a great history. Over 20 plus years ago, Carl Schilling, at age 15, lost his life in an car-pedestrian accident. He was a cross country runner. The race went on, in his name to raise money for scholarships for area schools. A few years back the family put on the last race, however with help from a title sponsor the race goes on today. This race is a great example of community.

Alright…so this year the event took place on Monday September 5, 2016 at 8:15 am in Bettendorf, IA, It was a sunny start, 70’s and humid.


Gear: Bibrave Tank, Donut Sparkle Athletic Skirt, Pro Compression socks, Ampla Fly shoes, Addidas shorts, XX2i USA1 sunglasses, Aftershokz headphones, Garmin Fenix

Josh was once again running this race too, and we met up with Kelly. Not only has this become my Labor Day tradition, I think these 2 have been running this race as long as I have.

We arrived in Bettendorf around 7:15 am, as Josh and I still needed to register. Race day price was only $25 and we were running the 5 mile distance. If we wanted a shirt we could pay extra…believe me, we don’t not need another shirt.  I emphasize this price, it’s a steal! I have paid $40 or more for 5ks, I don’t know why but I have….so this race keeps it affordable.

We have always parked at the Middle School, which is a short walk from the race start. There is plenty of parking and it’s free. Just make sure to get there in enough time before the road is closed for the race.

There are also plenty of port-o-potties behind the registration area. I also think the fitness center is open if you really needed to use an actual toilet. However the race is small enough and it’s first thing in the morning the porto’s are clean…and as many races as I have done, a porto isn’t a big deal.


We were all ready to run the race, so we stood near the start and listened to the pre-race announcements, and the live singing, by a quartet, of the National Anthem.

Having run a half marathon the day before, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I did plan to race this though. I was also in the testing period for the Ampla shoes, which helped create force in running so I would improve my mechanics and run faster.

I made sure not to start too fast, and being familiar with the course, I also made sure to watch my footing, as the first section is on the road and there are crack and some potholes.

Once off the road, the race goes onto the bike path. This area can be congested with runners, but it eventually spreads out. The bike path is an asphalt surface. It follows a little creek.

There are 3 water only stops on the course, with easy to pinch paper cups. Each mile is marked and there is a volunteer standing at each one shouting the overall time.

From the bike path, the course then goes through a residential neighborhood and then finishes on a busier city street. This year the last street was under construction, so the course was on the sidewalk, which was no problem as it is really wide.

The one thing I forgot about this race is the hills! They are not steep, but there are quite a few that make pushing the pace a little more of a challenge.

I came across the finish line, and found Josh cheering in finishers. I waited next to him and we saw Kelly finish the 5k. Wahoo!


We all walked into the finisher’s area and where there was bananas, apples, bagel pieces and cookies. We were all too late for the cupcakes. 😦 I wish they would have enough for all, but a cookie did the trick.

M

There was a tent printing out results, just had to show them your bib number. Ugh, my time was slower than last year by about 2-3 minutes. I really felt like I was flying through the race course, just must have had tired legs. My time was 47:30, which is still a great pace of 9:30.

img_8326

We milled about for a while, but it was time to go to Dunkin Donuts and get some coffee and donuts of course. So we said our goodbyes to Kelly and were on our way.


Ok so we didn’t eat all the donuts… But left them with my niece. 🍩

I like this race and will always try to run it, let the Labor Day tradition continue. I am happy the community has stepped up to make this happen. See you next year Bettendorf!

 

One thought on “Run With Carl – 2016

  1. Pingback: 2016 in review | Angie Runs

Leave a Reply

