Nugo Bars

NUGO DARK BARS – Review

“Disclaimer: I received a variety pack of Nugo Nutrition Dark Bars to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”


YUM! – the end…ok I will write an actual review of these bars, but spoiler alert, I love em!

I have done reviews of other bars, and eaten my share of bars.Especially those that boast about protein or their health benefits. Most of them taste like cardboard and are made of that nougat like mush crap. Well, enter Nugo Nutrition and their delicious bars.


What sets them apart, IMO, is they aren’t a mush center or that weird substance that you just can’t place, and you are not sure what you are eating. Basically these are like dark chocolate covered crispy treats, or a candy bar.

From the Nugo website, they highlight why they are different:

  • REAL Dark Chocolate isn’t just a delectable treat with delicious flavor. It’s a heart-healthy, antioxidant-rich superfood, and a staple ingredient in many NuGo bars. Research has shown that REAL Dark Chocolate may help maintain good cholesterol (HDL),* lower blood pressure, elevate mood, reduce stress, and increase endurance when consumed before a workout. So if you want to lead a healthy life, get REAL. Get NuGo.
  • At NuGo, we never put our bottom line above the best interests of our customers. For our REAL dark chocolate, we only source the best, natural cocoa solids and combine them with creamy cocoa butter, so that every bite is full of decadent flavor. Other companies cut costs by mixing their cocoa solids with vegetable fats like palm kernel oil to make imitation chocolate without the taste, texture or health benefits of REAL chocolate.
  • At NuGo Nutrition, we believe that the freshest, healthiest ingredients are also the best tasting. We are passionate about keeping families active and healthy, which is why we’re so committed to keeping GMOs, artificial hormones, stomach-upsetting maltitol, and artificial sweeteners out of NuGo products. When you give your child a NuGo bar (or grab one for yourself), you can be confident that you’re getting only the best naturally delicious ingredients in every bite.

Also please note these dark bars have 10 grams of protein, they are non GMO, vegan and gluten free!!


I received 12 bars – 3 bars in 4 different flavors:

Mint Chocolate Chip: the mix of mint an dark chocolate is just right, this was a favorite to drink with my coffee. This has 1 gram of fiber and 14 grams of sugar.


Chocolate Pretzel with sea salt: spoiler alert this one is my favorite. The mix of sweet and salty is my jam! This has 2 grams of fiber and 15 grams of sugar.


Chocolate Coconut: I didn’t get an overwhelming coconut flavor, or one that stands out. I still really enjoyed this one, but I loved all the dark bars I have tried. This has 1 gram of fiber and 15 grams of sugar.


Chocolate Chocolate Chip: This one is most similar to a candy bar for me. If you are on the fence, I would try this bar first, it’s just chocolaty and crispy. This bar has one gram of fiber and 14 grams of sugar.


I found myself eating these each morning, usually as a pre-breakfast, before my run. They paired nicely with coffee. I also used them as a road trip snack, brought them to a basketball game and I ate them before running a half marathon.


Before I knew it, I had no bars left! Never fear, I can buy them at my local grocery store, just a half mile from my house, and they are only $1.49 each. This is when I was introduced to 2 more flavors:


Spicy Chocolate: I just had to try this flavor, cuz why not, and it intrigued me. It really wasn’t spicy hot to me, it was more of a cinnamon and chocolate. So shake things up, give this one a try. This bar has 2 grams of fiber and 15 grams of sugar.


Mocha Chocolate: This one was good, but I really didn’t get a strong mocha flavor, however I did eat this one with my morning coffee, so maybe the flavor cancelled each other out. This bar has 2 grams of fiber and 14 grams of sugar.


They also make other types of bars too, I picked up the peanut butter offering, but it was not the one that is part of the dark series, it was good, but it wasn’t my favorite. There is a peanut butter dark bar, I need to try one of those. That dark chocolate really makes a difference in that weird protein aftertaste that can happen with regular protein bars.


I think the only downside to the dark bar is they have, what I feel is a lot of sugar. However, I am not going to eat something that tastes like cardboard but contains no sugar. I need a protein bar I am going to eat, these are delicious and a treat! (There is the Nugo Slim, for a less sugar option – 2 or 3 grams and more fiber -, adding to the list of bars to try)

If you haven’t picked up that I like these…did you even read this? I would totally recommend trying these bars. Here is a store locator – https://www.nugonutrition.com/where-to-buy/ – Or you can purchase them online, – https://www.nugonutrition.com/ – and if you do, use code BIBRAVE1 to save 15% off the dark bar boxes. (This is valid through February 8th, 2017)


Some of the other pros were able to test these too, check out their thoughts: FrankGina Brad – Casey – Emily – Heather – Kolbe – ShannonCarolyn

If you have further questions, you can follow Nugo Nutrition on TwitterFacebookInstagram

10 thoughts on “Nugo Bars

  1. Pingback: Island Style | Angie Runs

  2. Pingback: Spring Hill Half | Angie Runs

  3. I really really enjoyed these bars! Great review!

  4. Pingback: NuGo Dark Bars – franklyrunning

  5. Pingback: NuGo Dark Bars Review – Beardontherunblog

  6. Pingback: NuGo Dark is oh so sweet! | Kolbe Writes.

  7. Pingback: Mardi Gras Freezer | Angie Runs

  8. Pingback: Shamrock Shuffle – 2017 | Angie Runs

  9. Pingback: 2017 Fergalicious 5k – Angie Runs

Leave a Reply

