How do you pick a Training Plan?

Guys…. I am struggling… I need a training plan…

I may not be doing a marathon a monthย this year (heck I need to find a goal for 2017), but I do have 2 marathons on my race schedule so far. I will be running the Illinois Marathon in April and Grandma’s Marathon in June, both for Bibrave.

Not only do I have the marathons on the schedule, there are local 5k’s and any other race I want to squeeze in. One reason you don’t really see me focus on one training plan, I am always racing – also why I don’t have time to bore you with a weekly training recap.


Ho-hum, it’s almost February, I have no training plan. Google to the rescue?

I made it through 2016 with no training plan, each marathon was the training for the next. Knowing I could do this, it’s why I am slacking on finding a plan.

What do I do?

In the past I have used Hal Higdon’s plan and the Brooks-Hanson method. Both were great plans. I also dabbled with a coach last fall, but I am broke.


Maybe I need to set a goal for these races? Then I can pick how I want to train.

So, I know I can just wing something, but maybe I should try to PR at the marathon distance?

How do you pick a plan?

HELP!

3 thoughts on “How do you pick a Training Plan?

  1. I know a guy that’s writing a book that outlines step by step how to create your own training plan. Maybe he can give you an early copy of the book so you can do it yourself?

    • Is this guy named Denny? ๐Ÿ˜€ I feel I am almost at that point, like I know what I need to do, but need that push from an actual plan.

      • That is the guys name, in fact. If I can help, let me know. And the book is still rough, but the first draft is about 98% done so if you think it will help say the word and I’ll email you a copy.

Leave a Reply

