OM – PFV

Orange Mud – P.F.V. Gear Review

“Disclaimer: I received the Orange Mud PFV to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”

“Innovation from frustration” I think this tagline is what I appreciate about Orange Mud the most. Orange Mud makes a lot of products and each appears to be it’s own invention. The Phone. Flask. Vest. is one of their newest and I was ready to give it the test!

First, I want to describe this vest to you, so take a minute and examine the photos.

img_8409


Are you thinking, how does this work for someone with a chest? Well, let me tell you the vest comes in 2 sizes, I have the small / medium. I am being honest, I have a larger chest and I ordered the smallest size. I have no issue with the size on a large chest.

Then you may notice the pockets. There are so many! There is the pocket the 15 oz / 450 ml (included with purchase) flask goes in, then there is a pocket for your phone.  Those pockets have elastic cinch closures. There is a small pocket on the left side that has a clip ring to house your key. Then there is a pocket on the right shoulder, good for lip balm or a snack. Then there is a pocket on the back, maybe for a credit card or trail pass. Note there is no closure for that pocket.

Ok, next do you notice the straps? There are 2 adjustable straps that go under the arms. Then there is a bungee strapping system that goes across the back for grasping a light jacket.

How do you put this on, well the easiest way to describe it is, put it on like a shirt, over your head. There is a clip on the left side that allows for more room to maneuver in and out of it. Once you have it in place, it’s easy to reach under the arms to tighten the straps. *I am used to the OM vests, so this is easy for me.

 


Phew… this small pack has a ton of features.  I say small because it only allows you to carry 15 oz of water.


Now how does it work while running?

The inaugural run was “interesting.” While the size of this pack fit me, I wasn’t sure how it was supposed to fit while running… ahem bouncing…. or if it did fit while running.


I had the hardest time trying to get it in the right position, was I supposed to wear it more like a bra? Was I supposed to wear it lower in the back? I wanted to try it out, so that first run, I didn’t fill the flask with liquid. The pack seemed to move without the weight of liquid.

I was still uncertain about the proper fit of the pack, so on my second run I went on a run with a friend to get a donut…and wouldn’t you know, a long john fits perfectly in the flask pocket! All kidding aside, it still felt a little strange to wear.


I wasn’t ready to give up on this, I really like OM products. I finally filled the flask with water. I wanted to get the general feel of the pack before I tried the flask, and yes I don’t usually carry water on short runs… just me. However, when I carried the water and my phone, and made sure the cinch closures were tight, the pack fit me well.  I also thought it was a little weird to drink from the flask in its position, it seems like the straw is high up on my shoulder.


Now, that I know the fit is better with the flask with liquid, I ran with it just for the fit, however it’s also when I noticed some random chaffing on my chest. *Me and chaffing is a whole other story…..


I also let my husband give the pack a try, here are his thoughts:

Hi everyone, Josh here. At first, I was skeptical about the water causing the pack to slosh around as I ran. As it turned out, I didn’t have it cinched properly, so once I did that, everything really fit well. I’ve worn the pack on about 4-5 runs of up to 10 miles, and it’s really been beneficial to have hydration on short-medium runs, especially with this brutal stretch of Iowa summer. It’s also nice keeping my phone away from my body as I run, and I haven’t had any issues with liquid hitting the phone. All in all, success!

Thanks Josh!

I keep running with this pack, trying to figure out what the best way to wear is, and how it fits me the best. The one thing I can conclude for sure, the more I wear it, the better it fits me. I think the fabric relaxes and I get a better feel for it each time.


I also will run with this and carry my phone only. Why? Well it is sooo easy to access my phone. Yes, it’s less cumbersome to maybe wear a running belt, but the ability to grab my phone and do an IG story or take a photo is soooo easy! If you don’t take a picture and post it on social media, did your run happen?


Will I continue to run with this product? YES! While I initially struggled with the perfect fit, I didn’t give up. The only other downside is, you can’t squirt sweat out of your eyes from a flask, lol. If you haven’t caught on, I love OM products and how innovative they are. I am not just giving you a load of crap. The Phone. Flask. Vest. is perfect for shorter runs and allows you to go hands free. ( I dislike hand helds.)

Now you might be asking, how do you care for this? Orange Mud has some general guidelines available – “How to wash a pack.” Really it’s easy, hand wash in luke warm water with unscented detergent and air dry.  The OM way is the BEST way to insure a long life to your pack. * Even though it may take a few uses before I get around to removing the salt crust off my pack, I find it easy to hand wash the pack, but sometimes I might toss it in the dryer to get some of the excess water out of it…shhhh, it’s our secret. Also the flasks can be hard to clean, I will stick them in the dishwasher, or if I am just drinking water – a quick hand rinse and I will store in the freezer between uses.


Sure it might seem a little pricey, but you can save 10% with code BRPPFV www.orangemud.com (This code actually works on any Orange Mud purchase)

PFV

As always if you didn’t find the information you were looking for in my review, check out what my fellow BibRave Pros had to say – Casey –JamesHaleyBradley – Heather – MaiFallon

Or catch Orange Mud on all their social channels – twitterFacebookInstagramYouTube – website

4 thoughts on “OM – PFV

  1. Pingback: Staying hydrated – Orange Mud P.F.V product review & a discount code – A Girl on a Search for Adventure

  2. Pingback: PFV from Orange Mud - Product Review | 50 in 50 Marathon Quest

  3. Pingback: Cross my Heart – Slacker Runner

  4. Pingback: Orange Mud Phone. Flask. Vest. (P.F.V.) – A Review | HG RUNS

Leave a Reply

