Peace of Mind

Road ID Wrist ID Elite – Product Review

“Disclaimer: I received a Road ID Wrist ID Elite to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”


I jumped on the chance to try this model of Road ID, not only because I needed to upgrade my current name badge, but mostly because I am very passionate about runner safety.

 
What is Road ID?

Simple – an ID you can carry on you for safety reasons. There are various models depending on where you want to wear the ID. Each model has a name badge, that is customized online. Suggested information are people to call, allergies or blood type. However you can put what you like on your ID. This ID is great for all outdoor activities, your pets, your children, anywhere! It’s easy to wear.

They also provide interactive IDs, which will provide more information online, such as medical history. There is also an app you can use on your phone to notify friends where you are running.

My Road ID story:

I came across Road ID years ago when I purchased the Shoe ID. At the time I thought I would never forget or lose it as it would always be on my shoe. However, that all changed when I met a guy at the post race of the Shipyard Old Port Half Marathon. He said he was hit by a car once, and his shoe flew off… they never found that shoe.

Lucky for me, many name badges are interchangeable with the bands, so I bought the Wrist ID sport. At the time, the only option was the cloth with velcro strap. This ID was good, but it wasn’t my favorite as the cloth didn’t stand up to the sweat, and it didn’t smell pretty.

Road ID then came out with the Wrist ID Slim. A silicone banded ID. I had to have this!!! I upgraded to this model. The old cloth ID was demoted to luggage tag. The new silicone band has been my everyday ID until the wrist ID elite came along. I never took it off. It held up to the sweat. I always had it on me. I even bought a lot of badges for it.

Then came the Wrist ID Elite. I really needed to upgrade my name badge on my slim. I had a silver badge and because I wore it everyday for probably 3 years, it was scratching off and getting hard to read. I also had my eyes on the new black name badge, and I would be able to get that with the Wrist ID Elite


Wrist ID Elite

First, you choose the faceplate and clasp color, then you select the band color – all done online. I then easily filled out the prompts online to customize my new name badge. I have my name, year of birth, my home city, 3 contacts, and made sure to note I have no known allergies. I also added a “Go Hawks.”  I also added a badge, which is like a charm to my order.


I received many emails letting me know the status of my order and when it shipped. The emails were just as witty as the printing on the envelope it arrived in. They are number one in the customer service department.


I opened the envelope to find my ID in a nice little tin. There were also some coupons inside and the badge I ordered.

The thing to note with this particular model of ID is that you need to cut the bracelet to fit your wrist. This process is simple, well after a little help from an online tutorial, but I wanted to make sure I didn’t cut it to short and I didn’t want the bracelet too tight.


I clasped this on my right wrist at first. I wear a lot of bracelets on this wrist. Hmmm, it just didn’t fit on that one…. so I switched it to my left wrist with my watch.


This is where I wore my Wrist ID Slim…well and to be honest, I still am wearing the old silicone band with all my badges… because I want to wear all my badges, and they don’t fit on the Wrist ID Elite.


When I run, I don’t notice my wrist ID Elite is there, however in my everyday life I notice this model. I am not sure it’s an ID I can continue to where 24/7. When doing some yard work – raking to be exact, the name badge would push the start button on my watch. Also if I have the clasp to close to my watch clasp, it will pinch my skin. So, maybe I need to wear on the other wrist. This is just my own personal preference.


I do love that it has 6 lines to add text, and I love the black badges. I think I personally prefer the smaller band with no extra clasps. I was thinking I would get a new name badge for my old smaller band….but then, Road ID came out with some news…

They have been making name badge for watches or fitness trackers for a while now, and finally they are making one for my watch model. This is what I am going to get. I can wear my watch and my old band with the badges I have.

My personal soapbox:

I run all over – trails, sidewalks, streets, gravel. I am tired of hearing all the excuses as to why you do not run with ID, and don’t get me started about not running with a phone. You never know when a car will miss a stop sign, you might fall on the trail, a dog attacks, an undetected health problem happens, you get lost, you’re dehydrated…on and on and on. YOU JUST NEVER KNOW, so why not be proactive?


Bottom line… GET ONE! This is the simplest thing to wear on a run, and it’s super affordable. While the wrist ID Elite may not be the model for me or you, they have a huge selection to chose from depending on your preference to wear it.

This link will provide a $5 gift-card to use towards your purchase:  bit.ly/2ocFWMl   The $5 gift-card is valid for 2 weeks after sign-up (copy of the gift-card will be emailed.)

Make sure to check out Road ID on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. They are always coming up with new colors, badges and models. (um rose gold anyone?)

Looking for more information, check out these reviews: Heather – MaiMeredithMatt JeannineVanessaJames 

3 thoughts on “Peace of Mind

  1. Pingback: Bear Stampede 10k 2017 | Angie Runs

  2. Pingback: Grandma’s 2017 – Angie Runs

  3. Pingback: Did I PR the 10k? – Angie Runs

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.