Take the Challenge

Do you take the challenge?

“Disclaimer: I received entry into Grandma’s Marathon as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”

grandmas-marathon-logo

What challenge am I talking about? This weekend is Grandma’s marathon and just in the last few years have offered a 5k the night before the longer distance events. If you do both of these it’s called the Great Grandma’s Challenge.

IMG_0727

I did this challenge, maybe the first year it was introduced. I jumped on board the minute it was announced. I love a running challenge. I did the inaugural Dopey Challenge, Conquer the Capitol, ran multiple events at the Louisiana Marathon, plus many others. If I am in town, I need a shakeout run anyway, why not pin on a bib and have some fun? Usually another bonus, more swag and bragging rights!

If you haven’t learned this already, I am a different breed. I don’t race every event I run, I just enjoy the events and the people. However, I still respect each distance and train (even though I haven’t followed a plan in a long time) and then show up and do my best to get to the finish line. I think this mindset makes taking on a running challenge something that is doable.

Would you take on a challenge like this? Why /Why not?

If you are starting Grandma’s Marathon weekend with the William A. Irvin 5k Friday night, make sure to grab your bib before 5pm, and get to the starting area by 5:30pm. Don’t worry the expo (closes at 8 pm) and pasta dinner (closes at 9 pm) will still be open when you are done.

Also a pro tip – get to the area early, it’s very congested.

img_6955

 

One thought on “Take the Challenge

  1. Pingback: A Coach for Grandma’s? – Angie Runs

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.