5kCrate – Product Review

A review of the 5kCrate

“Disclaimer: I received a 5kCrate to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”


Sure, you have seen many of my reviews on running subscription boxes… you know the kind you sign up for a monthly subscription to receive a box full of running related product samples? Well the 5kCrate is a runner’s subscription box, but different – it’s a quarterly subscription and it contains no food, rather premium running gear.

Also to note, since this box sends gear, when you sign up you submit your shirt size as well as your shoe size.

Check out my unboxing video -​

​Alright, you saw what was inside, let me give you more information about these products, and my thoughts after using them.

I know the review is about the box itself, but I feel describing the types of products you would receive is beneficial to knowing if this is the subscription box for you.

Zensah Peek Running Socks – These are ankle height running socks. Made with moisture wicking and anti-odor fabric. Lightweight with a seamless toe and targeted arch support. The are sized S, M, L based on shoe size. *To be fair, I own a lot of Zensah socks, as they are a great durable product, I was excited to see these in the box. While they fit great, they feel great. These are about $14.


Epic Wipe – The Original Massive Wet Wipe: There were 2 of these in the box. They individually packaged. They are HUGE!!! They have a pine scent, due to the eucalyptus oils, but that scent goes away. I used them after a runch and after a race, they do their job quite well. The claim the GIANT size is so you don’t have to use multiple wipes, but I think half the size would be plenty. I need to add these to my travel bag, they came in handy. A 10 pack is about $25

LA Fresh travel-lite Sunscreen Wipe – Included in the 5k crate were 2 wipes. The package is small, and the wipe opens up to about 5″x 6″ in size. It contains SPF 30. *I will admit, I suck at applying sunscreen… plus it’s just an added pain. However this little wipe is very convenient, it easily fits in a pocket. I brought it to a football game, so it’s easier than bringing in a bottle, gets past security, and your hands don’t feel all gooey when you are done. I wish the box included more of these. 50 wipes are $25

SpiGen R12E bluetooth wireless headphones: These come with a USB charging cord, and a bag of adjusters for your ear. I don’t know where to start with these… I do not have a good history with ear bud type headphones, they do not stay in my ear, I’ve tried the rubbery pieces that go on these that are supposed to keep them in your ear, they just do not work in my ear. I did try wearing these around my house, as I do love bluetooth, wireless headphones…and these almost sell for the cost of this box, around $49. However, these would not stay in my ears and I was just walking around my kitchen. All that said, this is a great addition to the box, the fit thing is just something that is MY problem. They did sound good, and you can control the music and songs from a touch of your finger on the outside of the ear bud. They are also easy to pair with a phone and simple to charge.

 

Mission Cooling Towel: When I received this box to test, it wasn’t super hot outside, so I still need to give this a few tries as the weather has heated back up. However, it’s a nice soft towel, with a simple concept… wet it, snap it, put on you to keep cool. The water doesn’t drip from the towel either. Looks like these cost about $20


Mission Vapor Active Alpha Tee: This is not your ordinary tech tee. First it’s sized for a woman, so it fits me nice. Next it dries up to 5 times faster, keeping you cool and dry. I wore this a couple times, I guess maybe I didn’t notice the 5 times faster thing, but I also didn’t feel like I was wearing a super soaked shirt. I will be honest, I do not need another shirt in my life, but this is a nice one. This sells for $25
My Overall thoughts: At first I was skeptical, I was wanting another gadget or something, or a few more wipes. However, I do think this box is a great idea – and you are definitely getting your money’s worth. It contains no food samples, just quality running gear. I agree with my friend, Mark – it’s a great box for a newer runner, someone who might not already have all the gear. At this time in my life, I do not have the extra income to continue with a subscription.


That being said….this would be a perfect gift for that hard to buy runner in your life.

The 5k crate is $59 per quarter and they are currently taking pre-orders for their fall box, which will start shipping in early October – https://5kcrate.com/

Check out 5k Crate online – websiteFacebookTwitterInstagram

Please read what the other BibRave Pros had to say: Tedrick Vanessa – JennaMai

7 thoughts on “5kCrate – Product Review

  1. Pingback: Hello 5kcrate! What presents have you brought me? – A Girl on a Search for Adventure

  2. I thought the Epic Wipes were great, but agree that half is actually enough! I split one of mine with a friend and ripped it in half. I am also about to go change the Zensah socks on my review to Peek instead of No-Show. I knew they weren’t No-Show but that was what it said on the postcard. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Gear Review: 5kCrate — Find out why I decided to subscribe! – She Runs by the Seashore

  4. Pingback: What’s in the BOX!!!???-5K Crate Product Review – TMilesAndRunning

  5. Pingback: Race Review #ECSWI 13.1 -2017 – Angie Runs

  6. Pingback: 5K Crate Product Review | Never A Dull Bling

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.