A Visor For All Conditions

Product Review – BOCO Gear 360° Visor®

“Disclaimer: I received a BOCO Gear 360° Visor® to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming aBibRave Pro (ambassador), and check outBibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”

Whether it’s to keep my hair under control, the sun off my face or my head warm; I can easily be spotted running with something on my head.

In fact you might have seen me in a BOCO trucker hat or a Boco stocking hat. BOCO (as some of you Coloradians might know) is short for Boulder, CO – where the company was “born.”

All this rambling brings me to the newest addition to my BOCO Gear collection, the  BOCO Gear 360° Visor®!

What makes this visor so special? Well I will tell you:

  • Terry cloth liner across the forehead to reduce sweat from dripping on your face
  • elastic band on the back, no readjusting
  • machine washable
  • black under the brim to reduce glare
  • the bill is curved and fits like a normal hat – no crazy flat brimmed nonsense
  • dry tech polyester

Now – how did I make the most of this visor?

While I have been wearing it from time to time on my runs, to shield my face from the sun (which is important all year round.) I put this to it’s first test as I wore it during the Detroit Marathon, in wind gusts close to 40 mph. The visor never budged, I never worried about losing this as I ran the last few miles in a head wind.  It’s a pain if you have to worry about keeping your hat on, and uncomfortable to run with your hand on the top of your head, to keep your hat on.

Second… I have been enjoying this as an addition to cold runs. I need my head and more importantly my ears covered when it’s cold outside (insert dramatic story of my ears being frostbit as a kid.)I prefer to wear a stocking hat or multifunctional head wrap. However, those items do not block my face from the sun. It’s sooooo easy to just throw the visor on, on top of the hat – BAM, sun protection.

I think if there were a downside to this visor, it would be the sizing. For my head size, it’s fine. I like that there is no extra adjustable strap to deal with. For others it could be too big or too small.

My favorite thing about this – it’s machine washable. I don’t have time to hand wash stuff, and the running gear that requires that treatment gets neglected. This just makes taking care of my visor so much easier.

The pros may have additional thoughts on BOCO Gear, so check em out: Amy WMeridithJeannineLindseyVanessaFrankKolbeStephanieMattCaseyJessica FallonGinaSamantha

BOCO makes a lot of products – check out their website, or maybe get your own custom order.

Follow BOCO Gear on TwitterInstagramFacebook.