Rudy Fotonyk Glasses

“Disclaimer: I received the Rudy Project Fotonyk Sunglasses in Black Matte with Photochromic lenses to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”


Yep, I did it again….I’m testing glasses……..but these are different and I will tell you why I am so excited.

These glasses are called the Rudy Project, Fotonyk Black Matte with Orange Fluo bumpers and the ImpactX Photochromic 2 clear to black lenses. That is a mouth full! In clearer terms, these are light weight running/active glasses, with protective measures and lenses that change darker when it’s brighter.

The glasses have many features beyond the photochromic lenses: (from the website)

rudy
The shades arrived in a light weight box. They were wrapped in a fabric “keeper” that protected the lenses only. I also received a cool trucker style or snap back hat!


I did get these shades on the week I was taking a break from running, however I still walk the dogs at least a couple times a day, and with the recent cold snap, and gloomy gray days, what better way to give them a try. The first thing I noticed was the changing lenses, even though it was cloudy, they still darkened up. In fact, they go from transmitting 9 percent light to 74 percent. The second thing I noticed is how they protect my eyes from the cold and wind.

I was getting more excited for these as winter can be brutal in Iowa. Also – remember that marathon I ran in August, I was in and out of the woods and constantly putting on and taking off my glasses.


I was annoyed at the bumpers, or those pieces that are “red” on the bottom of the lens. I really didn’t like the look, it was like I was a scientist. However, the purpose is to protect your face from the lens if you were to take a stumble. I found out how easy they were to remove, you just pull the lens from the frame, and the bumper comes off. A simple snap back into the frame and the glasses were complete again. (You can actually purchase other lenses here, if you want to change up the look)

 


It was time to take them on their first run, I decided to run 5 miles. It was cold, about 30 degrees, and not very sunny, there was even some light snow falling from the sky.  I was wearing a stocking hat, and nothing else on my face. I was having some issues with them fogging up, but once I pinched the nose piece, so they would sit farther from my sweaty face, the fogging went away.


Speaking of fogging issues. I have yet to find any glasses that wont fog in extremely cold conditions, and maybe I shouldn’t be running outside anyway. These lenses do have measures to try and prevent the fogging, there are vents in the lens on the bottom (another reason I removed the bumper, they are more exposed), and there are openings between the frame and lens on the top. If you are covering your face, especially your nose, fogging is just a problem no matter what glasses you are wearing.


My next run, I wore these indoors. Yep, I can do that, as they go to the clear lens in darker lighting conditions. It was also a “feels like” temp below zero….so I went to the gym, to hit the treadmill. I could go on about how I hate the treadmill….but how about I tell you about my sweaty run with the glasses.


I decided to wear the trucker hat too, it has a tech liner in it. With the glasses and headphones, I had to make some adjustments to get it all to fit comfortably on my head. (Note to self, try the glasses with another hat) I ran 3 miles, and it was sooooo hot in the gym and I was very sweaty. The glasses collected some moisture and there was a tiny bit of fogging. Otherwise they stayed in place, no slipping on a sweaty face.


I have yet to get back outdoors for a run, but I have been wearing them to protect my face when I walk the dogs, as it’s still stupid cold…and since the lenses go clear I can still see.


I also think the lenses take a while to transition, so for fun I was testing this. See the time stamp after a dog walk on the photos. This was for them to go from dark to clear. Looks like it took about a half an hour. Not sure if temperature has any effect. (If it’s colder and it takes longer?)

I also wore these driving. It was sunny, and there was snow on the ground, it was bright. I felt myself squinting, as they didn’t offer enough darkness for that. I am waiting for a sunny day to test running in them. Despite this trouble, these would also be great for lab work, safety glasses, or cooking. They are light weight,  and offer excellent, physical protection for your eyes.

I was able to get out for a sunny run. I really didn’t have many issues, except I don’t think they are as dark or protect my eyes from the sun like an actual “sunglass.” As I described above when driving in the sun.


I do like these glasses, but I think they will be my cloudy day, trail, and nighttime go to pair to wear. I never realized how much protection they provided to my eyes, especially as a contact lens wearer. Now I have something to wear when it’s not so bright outdoors.


If you would like to get yourself a pair, check out this link http://www.rudyproject.com/fotonyk.html#SP457306-0001

If you don’t find all the information in my review, check out these other reviews: Heather JeremyErica Emily  – MarkCasey Amy  – Brenda

OR check out the Rudy Website, Twitter, Facebook or Instagram

 

One thought on “Rudy Fotonyk Glasses

  1. Pingback: Rudy Project Fotonyk Sunglasses Review – Beardontherunblog

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.