Shoes for Recovery

Oofos – Product Review

“Disclaimer: I received the Oofos OOriginal Sport Sandals to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”


Flip flops….for recovery…yep you heard me. The Oofos Ooriginal sport sandal is a flip flop designed to treat your feet!

  • absorbs more shock
  • reduces stress on sore feet, knees and back
  • cradles the arches
  • enables more natural motion
  • moisture and bacteria resistant closed cell foam
  • Oh and my favorite – They are machine washable, put on delicate cycle and air dry!

I wore my shoes to work a garage sale, I was on my feet for 2 days

So what does this all mean. They are an “easy to take care of, springy, bouncy cushion for your feet when they need a break from all the running” shoe, making recovery more pleasant.

I received my pair near the end of July, I put them on and my first impression was how spongy (this is totally a word) and squishy they were. I wore them for about 2 hours.


This model – the Ooriginal sport sandal, is a traditional flip flop style with a toe post (the is soft and conforming to eliminate chafe. I really don’t notice it like you can with the style you pick up for a buck. This comes in three colors, graphite, cloud white and marsala. (ok, they had a limited edition red, white and blue this summer too)

Working the farmers market

Mine are graphite. I am not super matchy  with my clothes, but thought these would go with everything.

they even match this beer

Since I received my flip flops, ahem sport sandals, I haven’t been wearing anything else for sandals, especially for events where I am on my feet,  I have worn them:

  • To sell at a farmers market
  • On vacation
  • To work a garage sale
  • To grab a beer
  • To get ice cream
  • Around my house on the hardwood and tile floor
  • to walk the dogs
  • Post run

They never lose the bounce, each time I put them on, they feel just as springy as the first day I put them on. That cushion definitely holds its form

Sorry for the gross feet pic, I had just completed a trail marathon, my feet appreciated the relief from my compression socks and shoes

I was chatting on twitter with fellow Bibrave Pro ShannonShannon, and we were saying how they are so nice after a run, how they let your feet breathe, and Oofos chimed in with this “@AngieMaskeBerka @GirlsGotSole not only that, the tissue in your feet gets to stretch & strengthen when you wear @oofos! #bibchat #feeltheoo


There are so many benefits of this shoe. I had a hard time finding something I didn’t like about them. I do have a couple things to note:

  • If you are working in a dusty/dirty environment and your feet get dirty and then sweat, it’s like the dirt piles up under the strap, but I am not sure that’s a super bad thing, you’re feet just got dirty. The bonus is the shoes are so easy to hose off or throw into the washing machine.
  • We were told to size up, so this makes the toe area a little more spacious. I wasn’t paying attention at a market and the toe portion bent back and I almost tripped an fell…but market days are long and I was tired… The good news there are no scuff marks on the shoe, no damage.

I will continue to wear these all year round, even in the winter they will be handy around the house on the hard floors. I just love the bounce and letting my feet breathe after a run.


They retail for $59.95, your feet earned this!


If you are unsure if these are for you, check out more information on the Oofos website. They are also very active on Twitter, or you can find them on Facebook and Instagram.


Still needing more input, well the pros have been busy testing them out, here are some of their thoughts: ChaddFallon – Mark  – HeatherShannon – Jen

3 thoughts on “Shoes for Recovery

  1. Pingback: BRP  | Angie Runs

  2. Pingback: OOFOS OOmg Low Shoe | Angie Runs

  3. Pingback: Recovery Gives Back – Angie Runs

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.