Gatorade Endurance – Product Review

Gatorade Endurance – Product Review

“Disclaimer: I received Gatorade Endurance Formula and Energy Gel as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”

There are a lot of hydration products on the market, and even more that contain electrolytes. I have always been a fan of the Gatorade drink products, so I was intrigued to test out the new watermelon flavor Gatorade Endurance, and I was willing to try the new mango energy gel.

What is so special about Gatorade Endurance Hydration? It contains two times the the sodium and more than three times the potassium as traditional Gatorade. It also contains no artificial flavors.

As a salty runner, I was ready to give the extra sodium a try. I have used Gatorade post run to fight off the dehydration headache, so maybe if I drank this during the run I would have no headache?

I have been mixing up my Gatorade as instructed on the canister, then drinking it before runs. I recently ran two different marathons carrying the drink with me. I am happy to say I had no post race headaches and no stomach issues. The flavor reminds me of candy, yet it’s not super sweet like a competing brand on the market. I can taste the saltiness and I like it!!!

What is so special about Gatorade Endurance Energy? The energy gels contain 20 grams of carbohydrates that are easy to get down.

Ok, time to be real… I am not a person that enjoys gels. I would rather eat real food. The main issue is the texture and taste. If I can’t get past that, it doesn’t go in my body.

I gave the mango gel a try. I was pleasantly surprised by the light fruit flavor, and how thin it was. It wasn’t goopy. It reminded me of syrup, and I really do think this would be great on waffles!!! I will note it is very sticky.

I look forward to giving it a try on a run. I wasn’t brave enough to try it on my last 2 long runs as they were marathons. I gave the drink a go as I have ran with Gatorade before.

Would I recommend this? I would definitely recommend the drink, especially if you are someone who requires more salt. It’s light and not super sweet. Also, the best thing when you mix a powder formula, you can adjust the taste to your liking.

The gel, while I am not certain how it would perform for running, I can get past the taste and texture, which is a win in my book.

For fun I decided to make popsicles. I am not sure if I missed a certain way to mix it up, but they just tasted like a salty ice cube. I will do this again, but I think I will add fruit. However, Gatorade ice cubes are a good idea too.

You can keep up with Gatorade Endurance via their websiteInstagramTwitterFacebook

If you need more insight, check out these reviews by other BibRave Pros: Lindsey Karen LissaKatyJessicaKevinAmyJennVanessa